Skip to content

Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru

Our well thought-out concept for the campus convinced the Jury: “Overall, the design is an outstanding contribution to the competition, praised in particular for its potential to create a campus integrated into the urban fabric with a human scale for the employees, as well as for the coherent overall concept with high potential.”

Siemens Healthineers AG, a global leader in medical technology for diagnostics and therapy, is intending to build a new interdisciplinary campus for research and development in Bengaluru, India. This new complex will be the largest of all global sites of the Germany-based company and will be the largest investment in India to date. To find the optimal solution for design, functionality, cost-effectiveness and sustainability, Siemens called out an international competition, with a pre-qualification phase upfront. Eller + Eller Architekten were the only German firm to qualify for the final round, and we were given the first prize by an unanimous vote of the jury.

Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, birds eye view
Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, Büroetage
Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, Eingang

The campus in numbers:
175,000 m² gross floor area GFA
143,000 m² main usable floor space
4,56 ha Campusareal
Building height up to 70 m
up to 18 full storeys
Start of planning 05/2021
Start of construction 2022
Completion 2025

Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, Foyer
Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, Skygarden

The guiding theme of the campus is enhanced by connectivity, collaboration, communication and transparency Technological innovation is not only generated in the spatially clearly defined functional areas tailored to concentrated work, as research and development, but also through the casual encounter with other people, the informal exchange of ideas and opinions, the interdisciplinary impulse. The human encounter and the diversified circulation and strolling on campus is given a new dimension in the architectural landscape designed by Eller + Eller together with Arup and Rainer Schmidt landscape architects, providing an inspiring stage.

Seven buildings, staggered in height and grouped around a landscaped courtyard, are connected to each other on several levels via terrace-like sky walks and sky gardens. These connecting and intermediate zones, as well as the flights of stairs set in atriums and air spaces, are much more than just walkways; rather, they serve as attractive meeting and communication zones between the zoned work and functional areas.

Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, Erdgeschoss + Außenanlagen
Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, Vernetzung benachbarter Bereiche auf verschiedenen Ebenen
Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, Vernetzung benachbarter Bereiche auf verschiedenen Ebenen, connecting neighbourhoods and labs on various levels
Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, 8. Obergeschoss, typische Etage, Skygarden
Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, 8. Obergeschoss, typische Etage, Skygarden

The symbolic heart of the campus is the open-air lounge with trees and lots of greenery, as a marketplace for people to meet. Architecture and open space combine to form a unified gesture, blurring the boundaries between inside and outside. The movement on campus permanently enables new perspectives, insights and outlooks, invites you to discover and broadens your horizon.

Notwithstanding the high transparency and openness of the loosely interspersed structures, the building complex is kept compact and yet allows for quick shortcuts if needed. If additional area would be required in the future, the structure already provides for an expansion of the campus with additional buildings to be docked on.

Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, Campus/Plaza
Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, Ansicht Ost, Parkseite
Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, View from south
Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, Nachhaltigkeit

Siemens Healthineers’ goal of becoming a carbon neutral company by their own emissions by 2030 receives extensive attention in the campus’ differentiated sustainability concept. The project makes maximum use of Bengaluru’s climate by proposing a campus layout and building design that maximises the use of natural ventilation and natural daylight while reducing exposure to excessive sunlight. The large potential for generating solar energy is effectively utilised by integrating semi-transparent photovoltaics on the atrium canopies and roof-integrated photovoltaics. Large open spaces with intensive greening and water retention areas are planned to create a mild local microclimate that is comfortable for users, reduces air temperature and energy demand for cooling, and is naturally resistant to heavy rainfall. The office buildings are operated with a mixed ventilation system that uses natural ventilation when required. For this purpose, the atriums are equipped with canopies that create a ‘Venturi effect’, enhancing a natural stack effect within the atriums.

Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, ventilation + sun path
Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, Lageplan

It's even more than an 'innovation hub'. It's going to be a dynamic Siemens Healthineers Campus where we can work, live, and network with our colleagues and with the world inside and outside our company. The jury ultimately opted for the winning design because it was the only one that took the campus idea all the way.

Rainer Stark, Leiter Real Estate Building Solutions, Siemens Healthineers AG

Our goal was to create a campus feel. With plenty of open spaces and an iconic design to reflect the open culture of our company. Eller + Eller's proposal had all these features and classic design elements, and that is why it is a winner.

Dileep Mangsuli, Leiter Development Centers (DC) Siemens Healthcare Pvt. Ltd., Bengaluru, India

Quotes

Client

Siemens Healthineers AG (listed in Frankfurt, Germany: SHL) is shaping the future of healthcare. As a leading medical technology company headquartered in Erlangen, Germany, Siemens Healthineers enables healthcare providers worldwide through its regional companies to increase value by empowering them on their journey towards expanding precision medicine, transforming care delivery, improving the patient experience, and digitalizing healthcare.

Location

Bengaluru, formerly Bangalore, is also called the new “Silicon Valley”. The metropolis of 11.4 million has developed into one of the most important IT and high-tech locations worldwide and attracts numerous companies, from start-ups to global players. The economic upswing is also associated with rapid population growth; over 16 million inhabitants are forecast for 2030. The innovative and emerging business climate in Bengaluru is the reason for Siemens Healthineers to locate its Indian ‘Innovation Hub’ there.

Design Competition

Of the 22 applicants, in addition to Eller + Eller Architekten, a further 5 offices from from New York, London, Singapore, Copenhagen and Ahmedabad qualified for the final round of the international architecture competition, which started on 8 September 2020.

The jury, chaired by Prof. Erwin Viray, met on 19 and 20 January 2021 and selected Eller + Eller Architekten as the winner.

Engineering: Arup Deutschland GmbH, Berlin. Project leader: Rudi Scheuermann

Landscape Architecture: Rainer Schmidt Landschaftsarchitekten GmbH, Munich. Project leader: Rainer Schmidt

Renderings: moka-studio GbR, Hamburg

Architectureal model: Gonzales Modellbau, Berlin

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on xing
Share on email

Skip to content

Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru

Das von uns konsequent durchgearbeitete Campus-Konzept hat die Jury überzeugt: „Insgesamt ist der Entwurf ein hervorragender Beitrag zum Wettbewerb, der insbesondere für sein Potenzial, einen in das Stadtgefüge integrierten Campus mit menschlichem Maßstab für die Mitarbeiter zu schaffen, sowie für das schlüssige Gesamtkonzept mit hohem Potenzial gelobt wird.“

Die Siemens Healthineers AG, weltweit operierendes und führendes Unternehmen für Medizintechnik in Diagnostik und Therapie, plant im indischen Bengaluru den Neubau eines interdisziplinären Campus für Forschung, Entwicklung und Produktion. Der Komplex wird flächenmäßig der größte der weltweiten Standorte des im deutschen Erlangen beheimateten Unternehmens und seine bisher größte Investition in Indien sein. Um die optimale Lösung in Bezug auf Gestaltung, Funktionalität, Wirtschaftlichkeit und Nachhaltigkeit zu finden, wurde ein internationaler Generalplanerwettbewerb mit vorgeschalteter Präqualifikationsphase durchgeführt. Eller + Eller Architekten konnten sich als einziges deutsches Büro qualifizieren und wurden durch eindeutiges Votum der Jury mit dem 1. Preis ausgezeichnet. 

Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, Vogelperspektive
Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, Büroetage
Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, Eingang

Der Campus in Zahlen:
5.000 Arbeitsplätze
175.000 m² Bruttogrundfläche BGF
143.000 m² Hauptnutzfläche HNF
4,56 ha Campusareal
Gebäudehöhe bis zu 70 m
bis zu 18 Vollgeschosse
Planungsstart 04/2021
Baubeginn 2021
Fertigstellung 2025

Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, Foyer
Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, Skygarden

Das Leitkonzept für den Campus wird geprägt durch Kollaboration, Kommunikation und Transparenz. Technologische Innovation entsteht nicht nur in den räumlich klar definierten und auf konzentrierte Arbeit zugeschnittenen Funktionsbereichen Forschung und Entwicklung – sondern gerade auch durch das Aufeinandertreffen mit anderen Menschen, den ungeplanten Gedanken- und Meinungsaustausch, den interdisziplinären Impuls. Die menschliche Begegnung, das abwechslungsreiche Zirkulieren auf dem Campus, erhält in der von Eller + Eller zusammen mit Arup und Rainer Landschaftsarchitekten entworfenen Architekturlandschaft eine inspirierende Bühne.

Sieben in der Höhe gestaffelte und um einen begrünten Innenhof gruppierte Gebäude sind auf mehreren Ebenen über „sky walks“ und „sky gardens“ terrassenartig miteinander verbunden. Diese boulevardartigen Verbindungs- und Zwischenzonen sind wie auch die in Atrien und Lufträume eingestellten Treppenläufe mehr als Laufwege; vielmehr dienen sie als attraktive Begegnungs- und Kommunikationszonen zwischen den zonierten Arbeits- und Funktionsbereichen.

Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, Erdgeschoss + Außenanlagen
Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, Vernetzung benachbarter Bereiche auf verschiedenen Ebenen
Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, Vernetzung benachbarter Bereiche auf verschiedenen Ebenen, connecting neighbourhoods and labs on various levels
Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, 8. Obergeschoss, typische Etage, Skygarden
Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, 8. Obergeschoss, typische Etage, Skygarden

Symbolisches Herz des Campus ist die Open-Air-Lounge mit Bäumen und viel Grün, als ein Marktplatz für die Begegnung von Menschen. Architektur und Freiraum verbinden sich zu einer einheitlichen Geste und lassen die Grenzen zwischen innen und außen verschwimmen. Die Bewegung auf dem Campus ermöglicht permanent neue Perspektiven, Ein- und Ausblicke, lädt zum Entdecken ein und erweitert den Horizont.

Der Gebäudekomplex ist ungeachtet der hohen Transparenz und Offenheit der locker eingestreuten Baukörper kompakt gehalten und ermöglicht auch den kurzen Weg. Und sollte zukünftig weiterer Flächenbedarf enstehen, ist das andockende Erweitern des Campus durch weitere Gebäude bereits jetzt in der Struktur angelegt.

Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, Campus/Plaza
Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, Ansicht Ost, Parkseite
Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, Ansicht Süd
Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, Nachhaltigkeit

Das Ziel von Siemens Healthineers, bis 2030 ein klimaneutrales Unternehmen im Hinblick auf die eigenen Emissionen zu werden, findet im differenziert ausgearbeiteten Nachhaltigkeitskonzept des Campus umfassende Aufmerksamkeit. Das Projekt nutzt das Klima in Bangalore maximal aus, indem es ein Campus-Layout und ein Gebäudedesign vorschlägt, das die Nutzung der natürlichen Belüftung und des natürlichen Tageslichts maximiert und gleichzeitig die Exposition gegenüber übermäßiger Sonneneinstrahlung reduziert. Das große Potenzial für die Erzeugung von Solarenergie wird durch die Integration von halbtransparenter Photovoltaik auf den Atrium-Vordächern und dachintegrierter Photovoltaik effektiv genutzt. Große Freiflächen mit intensiver Begrünung und Wasserrückhalteflächen sind geplant, um ein mildes lokales Mikroklima zu schaffen, das für die Nutzer angenehm ist, die Lufttemperatur und den Energiebedarf für die Kühlung reduziert und von Natur aus resistent gegen starke Regenfälle ist. Die Bürogebäude werden mit einem gemischten Lüftungssystem betrieben, das bei Bedarf die natürliche Lüftung nutzt. Zu diesem Zweck sind die Atrien mit Vordächern ausgestattet, die den „Venturi-Effekt“ erzeugen und den natürlichen Kamineffekt innerhalb der Atrien verstärken.

Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, Durchlüftung + Besonnung
Siemens Healthineers Campus Bengaluru, Lageplan

Es ist sogar mehr als ein ‚Innovation Hub‘. Es wird ein pulsierender Siemens Healthineers Campus werden, auf dem wir arbeiten, leben und uns mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen sowie mit der Welt innerhalb und außerhalb unseres Unternehmens vernetzen können. Der Entwurf des ausgewählten Architekturbüros hat dadurch überzeugt, dass er als einziger den Campus-Gedanken konsequent umsetzt.

Rainer Stark, Leiter Real Estate Building Solutions, Siemens Healthineers AG

Unser Ziel war es, ein Campus-Gefühl zu erzeugen. Mit vielen Freiflächen und einem ikonischen Design, um die offene Kultur unseres Unternehmens widerzuspiegeln. Der Vorschlag von Eller + Eller hatte all diese Eigenschaften und klassischen Designelemente, und deshalb ist er ein Gewinner.

Dileep Mangsuli, Leiter Development Centers (DC) Siemens Healthcare Pvt. Ltd., Bengaluru, India

Stimmen

Auftraggeber

Die Siemens Healthineers AG mit Sitz in Erlangen ist ein weltweit führendes Unternehmen für Medizintechnik mit über 120 Jahren Erfahrung und 52.000 Mitarbeitern in mehr als 70 Ländern. Der Geschäftsbereich umfasst die medizinische Bildgebung, die Labordiagnostik sowie die allgemeine Diagnostik und Therapie.

Standort

Bengaluru, früher Bangalore, wird auch das neue „Silicon Valley“ genant. Die 11,4-Millionen-Metropole hat sich weltweit zu einem der wichtigsten IT- und Hightech-Standorte entwickelt und zieht zahlreiche Unternehmen an, vom Start-up bis zum Global Player. Mit dem wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung ist auch ein rasantes Bevölkerungswachstum verbunden; für 2030 werden über 16 Millionen Einwohner prognostiziert. Das innovative und aufstrebende Wirtschaftsklima in Bengaluru ist für Siemens Healthineers Anlass, den indischen Hauptsitz von Mumbai dorthin zu verlegen.

WETTBEWERB

Von den 22 Bewerbern hatten sich neben Eller + Eller Architekten weitere 5 Büros aus Indien, Singapur, Großbritannien und Dänemark für die am 8. September 2020 gestartete Endrunde des internationalen Architekturwettbewerbes qualifiziert.

Die Jury unter Vorsitz von Prof. Erwin Viray tagte am 19. und 20. Januar 2021 und kürte Eller + Eller Architekten zum Sieger.  

Fachingenieur: Arup Deutschland GmbH, Berlin. Projektleitung: Rudi Scheuermann

Landschaftsarchitektur: Rainer Schmidt Landschaftsarchitekten GmbH, München. Projektleitung: Rainer Schmidt

Renderings: moka-studio GbR, Hamburg

Modellbau: Gonzales Modellbau, Berlin

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on xing
Share on email