Skip to content

DATEV Technology Campus, Nürnberg

Campus in the park

The building is more than a mere shell for processes, structures and uses. Its form does not follow the primary function alone. Not “form follows function”, but “architecture follows culture” becomes the maxim of DATEV’s corporate architecture. The new campus building is a direct expression of this corporate culture.

Our approach is based on a further development of a classic campus facility. This was originally characterised by individual buildings being arranged in a park layout in relation to each other. In our approach, different path relationships are logistically and scenographically layered on top of each other. Special uses such as the conference area, learning centre, executive briefing centre and co-working are located on the ground floor, which are associated with an increased number of visitors.

We then introduced a distribution level on the 1st floor, which is primarily intended for DATEV employees. This ensures that they can exchange information between the HOMEZONE HUBS without any control. This leads to a reduction in perceived access controls and a discernible improvement in agility and collaboration.

On this floor and on the first floor above it, large roof gardens are arranged, which are intensively planted with greenery and offer the staff varied recreational qualities on various terraces.

Open space concept

The new DATEV Campus in Nuremberg is not only a symbol for a modern FinTech company, but also stands for innovations in the organisation of human interactions.

Different spaces have different tasks and should provide incentives to experience the working world and the cooperative idea on new levels of communication and togetherness. The aim of the new building is to detach the office as such from its physical character traits in order to create a less fixed place where thoughts and ideas can better develop and unfold, while the looseness of the design offers employees more space for their own identity.

The same is aimed at with the open space concept. A topographical, park-like landscape overlays the idea of an open space with quality of stay for working and recreation. Hills in the peripheral areas create views, form “protected” places and underline the lightness of the buildings on the base. Attached to the hills are hollows with infiltration trenches. They serve the local rainwater infiltration and are a contribution to the ecological material cycle. A landscaped path system connects the entrances with the open spaces in the park. In the area of the main entrance there is a mobility hub with bike sharing, charging stations for e-rides and a DATEV shuttle stop to the nearest S-Bahn and U-Bahn would also be conceivable at this location.

Roof gardens and terraces

The accessible roof areas will be designed as attractive, intensively planted gardens. In the process, the uses of the interior spaces are transferred to the open space design. For example, a versatile outdoor sports facility with a running track is being built at the health centre. In addition, an area with outdoor workplaces and quiet zones is being created. In the centre of the roof garden we are developing a staff garden. Here you can harvest seasonal vegetables at any time and also take some home for dinner.

Homezone / Midi Hubs

Our concept is based on the idea of always arranging two HOMEZONES on one floor. This is to improve collaboration, but at the same time it gets you into the neighbouring department so that maximum flexibility is achieved and departments can also grow. Connecting staircases between the floors increase vertical agility. Daylight enters the 3 floors below via two large elongated atriums.

As internal boulevards, they are flanked by various co-working facilities. Lounge cafes, focus rooms, project rooms and many inviting ‘me’ and ‘we’ related special areas for ‘collaboration’ and regeneration are planned.

The HOMEZONE becomes the crystallisation point of the corporate culture. It equally fulfils the criteria of effectiveness, economic efficiency and the transmission of values. The office structure conveys the corporate values of the employees and represents identity and identification in a way that can be experienced spatially. In this way, the office landscape becomes an economic resource and a strategic success factor.

The office form creates a workplace that offers openness and flexibility for dialogue but also sufficient retreat for concentrated work in peace. The meeting rooms are equipped with modern technology. Retreats for concentrated individual or group work as well as meeting places such as sitting areas, kitchenette and copying zones characterise the image. Individual and shared as well as open and closed workspaces are equally important when it comes to sharing knowledge, even informally.

The office structure directly reflects the communication processes of the company departments. Separating walls are dispensed with as far as possible. This creates spatial transparency and openness for communication and collaboration. All hierarchical levels use the free office landscape. Cellular offices are offered according to functional requirements for individual departments or areas.

The office is a possibility space that is oriented towards the needs of the employees – both as individuals and in the community. Employees experience appreciation and respect; experience a supportive emotional environment. The quality of encounters and creativity are positively influenced. Spaces are created that are oriented towards the requirements of the company and in which people can work well and want to work.

Ground floor plan
Floor plan 1st upper floor

Competition, 2019

GFA 60,000 m2

Client: DATEV

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on xing
Share on email

Skip to content

DATEV Technology Campus, Nürnberg

Campus im Park

Das Gebäude ist mehr als eine reine Hülle für Prozesse, Strukturen und Nutzungen. Seine Form folgt nicht allein der primären Funktion. Nicht „Form follows function“, sondern „Architecture follows culture“ wird zur Maxime der DATEV Corporate Architecture. Der Campus-Neubau ist direkter Ausdruck dieser Unternehmenskultur.

Unser Ansatz basiert auf einer Weiterentwicklung einer klassischen Campus Anlage. Diese war ursprünglich davon geprägt, dass einzelne Gebäude in einer Parkanalage zueinander angeordnet waren. In unserem Ansatz werden verschiedene Wegebeziehungen übereinander logistisch und szenographisch geschichtet. Im Erdgeschoss sind die Sondernutzungen wie Konferenzbereich, Learning Center, Executive Briefing Center und CoWorking angeordnet, die mit einem erhöhtem Besucheraufkommen verbunden sind. 

Im 1. Obergeschoss haben wir dann eine Verteilerebene eingeführt, die vor allem für die Mitarbeiter von DATEV vorgesehen ist. Damit wird erreicht, dass diese ohne Kontrolle zwischen den HOMEZONE HUBS auf kurzem Wege sich austauschen können. Dies führt zu einem Abbau von gefühlten Zugangskontrollen und zu einer erkennbaren Verbesserung der Agilität und Kollaboration.

Auf diesem Geschoss und auf dem darüber liegendem 2. Obergeschoss sind große Dachgärten angeordnet, die intensiv begrünt sind und für die Mitarbeiter abwechslungsreiche Aufenthaltsqualitäten auf verschiedenen Terrassen aufweisen.

Freiraumkonzept

Der neue DATEV Campus in Nürnberg ist nicht nur Sinnbild für ein modernes FinTech Unternehmen, sondern steht ebenso für Neuerungen in der Organisation menschlicher Interaktionen.

Unterschiedliche Räume haben unterschiedliche Aufgaben und sollen Anreize liefern, die Arbeitswelt und den genossenschaftlichen Gedanken auf neuen Ebenen der Kommunikation und des Miteinanders zu erleben. Ziel des Neubaus ist es, das Büro als solches von seinen physischen Charaktereigenschaften zu lösen, um so einen weniger festen Ort zu schaffen, an welchem sich Gedanken und Ideen besser entwickeln und entfalten können, während die Lockerheit des Entwurfs den Mitarbeitern mehr Platz für eigene Identität bietet.

Gleiches wird mit dem Freiraumkonzept angestrebt. Ein topografisches, parkartiges Landschaftsbild überlagert die Vorstellung eines Freiraumes mit Aufenthaltsqualität zum Arbeiten und Erholen. Hügel in den Randbereichen inszenieren Durchblicke, bilden „geschützte“ Orte und unterstreichen die Leichtigkeit der Baukörper auf dem Sockel. Angelagert an die Hügel befinden sich Mulden mit Rigolen. Sie dienen der örtlichen Regenwasserversickerung und sind ein Beitrag zum ökologischen Stoffkreislauf. Ein landschaftliches Wegesystem verbindet die Eingänge mit den Freiraumangeboten im Park. Im Bereich des Haupteingangs befindet sich ein Mobilityhub mit Bike sharing, Ladestadtion für E-Rides und auch eine DATEV-Shuttelhaltestelle zur nächsten S- und U-Bahn wäre an diesem Ort denkbar.

Dachgärten und Terrassen

Die begehbaren Dachflächen werden als ansprechende, intensiv begrünte Gärten gestaltet. Dabei werden die Nutzungen der Innenräume in die Freiraumgestaltung übertragen. So entsteht z.B. auf dem Healthcenter eine vielseitige Freisportanlage mit Laufbahn. Zudem entsteht ein Bereich mit Außenarbeitsplätzen und Ruhezonen. Im Zentrum des Dachgartens entwickeln wir ein Mitarbeiternutzgarten. Hier kann man jederzeit saisonales Gemüse ernten und auch gleich noch etwas für das Abendessen mitnehmen.

Homezone / Midi Hubs

Unser Konzept basiert auf der Idee immer zwei HOMEZONES auf einer Etage anzuordnen. Dies um die Kollaboration zu verbessern, aber zugleich gelangt man so in die Nachbarabteilung, so dass eine maximale Flexibilität erreicht wird und auch Abteilungen wachsen können. Verbindungstreppen zwischen den Geschossen erhöhen die vertikale Agilität. Über zwei große langestreckte Lichthöfe gelangt Tageslicht in die 3 darunterliegenden Geschosse.

Als interne Boulevards werden sie flankiert von unterschiedlichen Co-Working Einrichtungen. Lounge Cafes, Focus Räume, Project-Räume und viele einladende ‚ich‘ und ‚wir‘ bezogende Sonderbereiche zur ‚Collaboration‘ und zur Regeneration sind vorgesehen.

Die HOMEZONE wird zum Kristallisationspunkt der Unternehmenskultur. Es erfüllt gleichermaßen die Kriterien der Wirksamkeit, Wirtschaftlichkeit wie der Wertevermittlung. Die Bürostruktur transportiert die Unternehmenswerte der Mitarbeiter und bildet Identität und Identifikation räumlich erlebbar ab. So wird das Bürolandschaft zur wirtschaftlichen Ressource und zum strategischen Erfolgsfaktor.

Die Büroform schafft einen Arbeitsplatz, der Offenheit und Flexibilität zum Dialog aber auch genügend Rückzugsmöglichkeit für konzentrierte Arbeit in Ruhe bietet. Die Meetingräume sind mit moderner Technologie ausgestattet. Rückzugsmöglichkeiten für konzentrierte Einzel- oder Gruppenarbeit sowie Orte der Begegnung wie Sitzecken, Teeküchen- und Kopier-Zonen prägen das Bild. Individuelle und gemeinsame sowie offene und geschlossene Arbeitsbereiche sind gleichermaßen von Bedeutung, wenn es darum geht, Wissen auch informell auszutauschen.

Die Bürostruktur bildet direkt die Kommunikations-Prozesse der Firmen Bereiche ab. Auf trennende Wände wird dabei möglichst verzichtet. Dies schafft räumliche Transparenz und Offenheit für Kommunikation und Zusammenarbeit. Alle Hierarchieebenen nutzen die freie Bürolandschaft. Zellenbüros werden nach funktionalen Anforderungen für einzelne Abteilungen oder Bereiche angeboten.

Das Büro ist ein Möglichkeitsraum, der sich an den Bedürfnissen der Mitarbeiter orientiert – sowohl als Individuen als auch in der Gemeinschaft. Die Mitarbeiter erfahren Wertschätzung und Respekt; Erleben ein förderndes emotionales Umfeld. Begegnungsqualität und Kreativität werden positiv beeinflusst. Es entstehen Räume, die sich an den Anforderungen des Unternehmens orientieren und in denen Menschen gut arbeiten können und gern arbeiten wollen.

Grundriss Erdgeschoss
Grundriss 1. Obergeschoss

Wettbewerb, 2019

BGF 60.000 m2

Auftrag­geber: DATEV

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on xing
Share on email