Skip to content

SIEMENS Gateway Gardens, Frankfurt/Main

Concept and elements

The building is more than a mere shell for processes, structures and uses. Its form does not follow the primary function alone. Not “form follows function”, but “architecture follows culture” becomes the maxim of Siemens Corporate Architecture. The new building is a direct expression of this corporate culture. We have therefore chosen the central common space as a symbol for this in our design concept. The centrepiece is this tangible, walk-in heart that connects all floors via a stair sculpture and around which the entire Siemens working and communication world is built.

Around the central area, the special rooms are arranged in two further layers – which support any work alone or in a team as diverse work tools. In addition, the workplaces are arranged along the façade, which also enables concentrated work.

The central experience space is connected to the park along the water via loggias on the southwest façade. This creates an intensive work-life experience that leads to real relaxation between the concentrated work steps during the day.

For passers-by, this creates an exciting urban setting for the individual sides of the building. The inclusion of the street lines also creates a strong urban edge that lends new support to the heterogeneous surroundings.

Site plan
Urban design

The concept form takes up the specifications of the Gateway Gardens design statutes. The volumetric body will be developed as a 6-storey structure and staggered in its length along the square. The building is thus perceived as an ensemble that formulates the corner of the square with the setback.

The main entrance faces the square and is accentuated by a two-storey setback.

In order to ensure long-term letting, we have developed further entrances on the south side, each of which is located at the corners of the building, thus also staging the building structure in an exciting way and creating further addresses of their own. The underground car park entrance and exit are also planned on the south side.

Lobby and experience room

The lobby and the 6-storey central experience space are accessed via the driveway. This is where Siemens shows its tangible identity to visitors and employees. The reception area offers guests an orientation. Meeting zones offer the opportunity to bring partners, customers and employees together at the interface between the indoor and outdoor spaces. However, for reasons of confidentiality and security, only staff members are allowed to access the upper working floors.

A central adventure staircase stages the vertical development and shows that movement and communication are promoted by Siemens.

Individual special uses are located around the central experience space:

The communication centre offers bookable meeting rooms for a wide variety of uses. With the help of mobile partition walls, these rooms can be opened up into large, multifunctional event and meeting spaces. They offer space for events, exhibitions, functions.

The Siemens Café offers all employees the opportunity for informal exchange and relaxation. The espresso bar has seating both inside and inside the experience space. Employees and customers can bridge the time until their appointment here, potential new employees can wait for their interview. In addition, the bistro offers Siemens employees the opportunity to use the space for informal dialogue during their lunch break. The café is also used for occasional catering of the communication centre.

Ground floor plan
Floor plan standard floor

The ground and ground floors house the Professional Education areas, which can be operated independently of the office areas in terms of security. Guests/employees reach the upper floor via the open staircase.

The adjacent area also houses the staff restaurant, which is accessed via the experience room. The dining and lounge area is arranged around the landscaped inner courtyard. This creates different experience zones that can be chosen by the employees.

The actual access core is located at the open stairwell extending over all floors. This central core contains the two passenger lifts and the fire brigade lift, which can also be used as a passenger lift. The aim is to motivate staff to use the stairs rather than the lift where possible.

Internal path relations

The special feature of the new office building is its internal pathways, which are multi-layered. Communicative and open, they invite employees to exchange ideas and share knowledge with colleagues on their way to work.

As internal boulevards, they are flanked by various co-working facilities. Lounge cafés, focus rooms, project rooms and many inviting ‘me’ and ‘we’ related special areas for ‘collaboration’ and regeneration are planned.

Corporate Office

The corporate office becomes the crystallisation point of the corporate culture. It equally fulfils the criteria of effectiveness, economic efficiency and the transmission of values. The office structure conveys the corporate values of the future tenant and represents identity and identification in a spatially tangible way.

The office form creates a workplace that offers openness and flexibility for dialogue but also sufficient retreat for concentrated work in peace. The meeting rooms are equipped with modern technology. Retreats for concentrated individual or group work as well as meeting places such as sitting areas, kitchenette and copying zones characterise the image. Individual and shared as well as open and closed workspaces are equally important when it comes to sharing knowledge, even informally.

Isometry with furnishing

The office structure directly maps the communication processes of the company divisions. Separating walls are dispensed with as far as possible. This creates spatial transparency and openness for communication and collaboration. All hierarchical levels use the free office landscape. Cellular offices are offered according to functional requirements for individual departments or areas.

The office is a possibility space that is oriented towards the needs of the employees – both as individuals and in the community. Employees experience appreciation and respect, experience a supportive emotional environment. The quality of encounters and creativity are positively influenced.

Communication and innovation

Communication and innovation are essential to the success of businesses. Changes of use and innovation thrusts place very high demands on the flexibility of the building. With their help, a wide variety of spatial and utilisation needs can be met.

In addition, the areas will have a high level of internal communication, in more open office landscapes that also have a variety of places for informal communication. The areas that have little internal communication are more likely to be depicted in more closed office structures.

In addition to process-dependent communication in the office spaces, the building must also meet the demand for formal meeting rooms.

Co-Working - Modern Working Worlds

The aim of the building structure should be to create as much free space as possible for innovation and flexibility in an inspiring atmosphere.

In order to meet the future challenges of the market, optimal conditions for communication, exchange of knowledge and cooperation must be created. The architecture must foster a culture that allows for interaction and communication, joint problem-solving and reflects appreciation towards staff. The new building ensemble offers an inspiring and attractive environment that promotes innovation, interdisciplinary collaboration and knowledge exchange.

All workplaces create a multifunctional space and workspace with a variety of individual, shared, open and closed work areas. These new types of office landscapes create spaces that generate knowledge and encourage people to exchange and communicate with each other.

Co-Working Café

The Co-Working Café offers all employees the opportunity for informal exchange and relaxation, has access to the terraces and the town square and is adjacent to the conference areas and the ‘Townhall’ for the weekly start-up talks as a marketplace.

Tenants and customers can bridge the time until their appointment here, potential new employees can wait for their interview. In addition, the bistro offers staff the opportunity to heat up food they have brought with them and to use the space for lunch breaks or short spontaneous breaks for informal dialogue. The café is also used for occasional catering of the communication centre.

Inside-outside relationship

In today’s working world with its flexible working hours and rhythms, it is desirable to be able to relax during working hours on the inner courtyard terrace, but also on the optional loggias. All of them are greened and have a high quality of stay.

Added value of the office building

The core of all tenants’ knowledge and innovation, and thus their greatest asset, are their employees. The building must function as an attractor for high potentials on the market. Furthermore, it must guarantee the retention of experienced staff. The corporate culture and the appreciative treatment of employees play a major role in this decision. Added value in the immediate working environment has a lasting impact on the choice of workplace.

Sustainability

We set a high standard for sustainability in the creation and planning of the new building.

This requires an optimal building envelope that optimises the energy use for buildings and systems. At the same time, an optimal room climate (room temperature, humidity, air exchange, air purity and light) is provided that is tailored to the needs of the employees.

The building is sustainable, economically efficient, environmentally friendly and resource-saving. The building is designed to be certifiable and will receive at least Green Building Leed Standard certification.

The use of renewable energies is planned in principle.

1st prize competition, work phases 1 to 8, general planning, 2019-2023

GFA 48,000 m2

Client: Siemens

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on xing
Share on email

Skip to content

SIEMENS Gateway Gardens, Frankfurt/Main

Konzept und Elemente

Das Gebäude ist mehr als eine reine Hülle für Prozesse, Strukturen und Nutzungen. Seine Form folgt nicht allein der primären Funktion. Nicht „Form follows function“, sondern „Architecture follows culture“ wird zur Maxime der Siemens Corporate Architecture. Der Neubau ist direkter Ausdruck dieser Unternehmenskultur. Als Sinnbild dafür haben wir daher in unserem Entwurfskonzept den zentralen gemeinsamer Raum gewählt. Im Mittelpunkt steht dieses erlebbare, begehbare Herz, dass alle Geschosse über eine Treppenskulptur verbindet und um das die ganze Siemens Arbeits- und Kommunikationswelt aufgebaut wird.

Um den zentralen Bereich herum werden in zwei weiteren Schichten die Sonderräume angeordnet – die als vielfältige Arbeitstools jegliche Arbeit alleine oder im Team unterstützen. Darüber hinaus werden entlang der Fassade die Arbeitsplätze angeordnet, die auch konzentriertes Arbeiten ermöglicht.

Der zentrale Erlebnisraum wird über Loggien an der Südwestfassade an den Park entlang des Wassers angebunden. Hierüber entsteht eine intensive worklife Erfahrung, die zwischen den konzentrierten Arbeitsschritten während des Tages zu einer echten Erholung führt.

Für Passanten entsteht dadurch städtebaulich eine spannungsreiche Inszenierung der einzelnen Gebäudeseiten. Durch die Aufnahme der Straßenfluchten entsteht aber auch eine starke städtebauliche Kante, die dem heterogenen Umfeld neuen Halt verleiht.

Lageplan
Städtebau

Die Konzeptform nimmt die Vorgaben der Gestaltungssatzung der Gateway Gardens auf. Der volumetrische Körper wird 6-geschossig entwickelt und entlang des Platzes in seiner Länge versetzt. Der Baukörper wird somit als Ensemble wahrgenommen, dass mit dem Rücksprung die Ecke des Platzes formuliert.   

Der Haupteingang ist auf den Platz ausgerichtet und wird durch einen zweigeschossigen Rücksprung betont.

Um eine langfristige Vermietung sicherzustellen, haben wir weitere Eingänge an der Südseite entwickelt, die jeweils an den Gebäudeecken verortet sind und somit auch den Baukörper spannungsreich inszenieren und weitere eigene Adressen bilden. An der Südseite ist auch die TG Ab-/Auffahrt vorgesehen.

Lobby und Erlebnisraum

Über die Vorfahrt gelangt man in die Lobby und den 6-geschossigen zentralen Erlebnisraum. Hier zeigt Siemens gegenüber den Besuchern und den Mitarbeitern seine erlebbare Identität. Die Empfangszone bietet Gästen eine Orientierung. Begegnungszonen bieten an der Schnittstelle zwischen dem Innen- und Außenraum die Möglichkeit, Partner, Kunden und Mitarbeiter zusammenzubringen. Aus Gründen der Vertraulichkeit und Sicherheit haben aber nur Mitarbeiter die Möglichkeit, in die oberen Arbeitsetagen zu gelangen.

Eine zentrale Erlebnistreppe inszeniert die vertikale Erschließung und zeigt, dass Bewegung und Kommunikation durch Siemens gefördert wird.

Um den zentralen Erlebnisraum sind einzelnen Sondernutzungen angebracht:

Das Kommunikationszentrum bietet buchbare Besprechungsräume für verschiedenste Nutzungen. Mit Hilfe von mobilen Trennwänden können diese Räume zu großen, multifunktionalen Veranstaltungs- und Besprechungsraum geöffnet werden. Sie bieten Platz für Veranstaltungen, Ausstellungen, Events. 

Das Siemens Café bietet allen Mitarbeitern die Möglichkeit zum informellen Austausch und zur Entspannung. Die Espressobar hat Sitzplätze sowohl im Innenraum, aber auch innerhalb des Erlebnisraumes. Mitarbeiter und Kunden können hier die Zeit bis zu ihrem Termin überbrücken, potenzielle neue Mitarbeiter auf ihr Vorstellungsgespräch warten. Darüber hinaus bietet das Bistro den Siemens Mitarbeitern die Möglichkeit, das Raumangebot für die Mittagspause zum informellen Dialog zu nutzen. Das Café dient des Weiteren zum gelegentlichen Catering des Kommunikationszentrums.

Grundriss Erdgeschoss
Grundriss Regelgeschoss

Im EG und 1.OG sind die Bereiche für Professional Education untergebracht, die sicherheitstechnisch autark von den Büroflächen betrieben werden können. Die Gäste/Mitarbeiter gelangen über die Freitreppe in das Obergeschoss.

Im angrenzenden Bereich ist auch das Mitarbeiter-Restaurant untergebracht, dass über den Erlebnisraum erschlossen wird. Der Ess- und Aufenthaltsbereich wird um den begrünten Innenhof angeordnet. Dadurch entstehen verschiedene Erlebniszonen, die von den Mitarbeitern gewählt werden können.

Der eigentliche Erschließungskern ist an den über alle Geschosse reichenden offenen Treppenraum angeordnet. Dieser Zentralkern beinhaltet die beiden Personen-Aufzüge und den Feuerwehraufzug, der auch als Personenaufzug genutzt werden kann. Ziel ist es, die Mitarbeiter dazu zu motivieren, dass sie möglichst nicht den Aufzug sondern die Treppen benutzen.

Interne Wegebeziehungen

Das Besondere des neuen Office Gebäudes sind seine internen Wegebeziehungen, die vielschichtig sind. Kommunikativ und offen laden diese die Mitarbeiter ein auf dem Weg zum Arbeitsplatz sich mit den Kollegen auszutauschen und Wissen zu teilen.

Als interne Boulevards werden sie flankiert von unterschiedlichen Co-Working Einrichtungen. Lounge Cafés, Focus Räume, Project-Räume und viele einladende ‚ich‘ und ‚wir‘ bezogene Sonderbereiche zur ‚Collaboration‘ und zur Regeneration sind vorgesehen.

Corporate Office

Das Corporate Office wird zum Kristallisationspunkt der Unternehmenskultur. Es erfüllt gleichermaßen die Kriterien der Wirksamkeit, Wirtschaftlichkeit wie der Wertevermittlung. Die Bürostruktur transportiert die Unternehmenswerte des zukünftigen Mieters und bildet Identität und Identifikation räumlich erlebbar ab.

Die Büroform schafft einen Arbeitsplatz, der Offenheit und Flexibilität zum Dialog aber auch genügend Rückzugsmöglichkeit für konzentrierte Arbeit in Ruhe bietet. Die Meetingräume sind mit moderner Technologie ausgestattet. Rückzugsmöglichkeiten für konzentrierte Einzel- oder Gruppenarbeit sowie Orte der Begegnung wie Sitzecken, Teeküchen- und Kopierzonen prägen das Bild. Individuelle und gemeinsame sowie offene und geschlossene Arbeitsbereiche sind gleichermaßen von Bedeutung, wenn es darum geht, Wissen auch informell auszutauschen.

Isometrie mit Möblierung

Die Bürostruktur bildet direkt die Kommunikations-Prozesse der Firmenbereiche ab. Auf trennende Wände wird dabei möglichst verzichtet. Dies schafft räumliche Transparenz und Offenheit für Kommunikation und Zusammenarbeit. Alle Hierarchieebenen nutzen die freie Bürolandschaft. Zellenbüros werden nach funktionalen Anforderungen für einzelne Abteilungen oder Bereiche angeboten.

Das Büro ist ein Möglichkeitsraum, der sich an den Bedürfnissen der Mitarbeiter orientiert – sowohl als Individuen als auch in der Gemeinschaft. Die Mitarbeiter erfahren Wertschätzung und Respekt, Erleben ein förderndes emotionales Umfeld. Begegnungsqualität und Kreativität werden positiv beeinflusst.

Kommunikation und Innovation

Kommunikation und Innovation sind für den Erfolg der Unternehmen wesentlich. Nutzungsänderungen und Innovationsschübe stellen sehr hohe Anforderungen an die Flexibilität des Gebäudes. Mit deren Hilfe sind verschiedenste Raum- und Nutzungsbedürfnisse zu erfüllen.

Darüber hinaus werden die Bereiche ein hohes Maß an interner Kommunikation aufweisen, in offeneren Bürolandschaften, die auch über eine Vielzahl an Orten für informelle Kommunikation verfügen. Die Bereiche, die eine geringe interne Kommunikation aufweisen, sind eher in geschlosseneren Bürostrukturen abzubilden.

Neben der prozessabhängigen Kommunikation in den Büroflächen muss das Gebäude auch die Nachfrage nach formellen Besprechungsräumen erfüllen.

Co-Working - Moderne Arbeitswelten

Ziel der Gebäudestruktur sollte es sein, möglichst viel Freiraum für Innovation und Flexibilität in einer inspirierenden Atmosphäre zu schaffen.

Um den zukünftigen Herausforderungen des Marktes gewachsen zu sein, müssen optimale Bedingungen für Kommunikation, Austausch von Wissen und Zusammenarbeit geschaffen werden. Die Architektur muss eine Kultur fördern, die Interaktion und Kommunikation sowie das gemeinsame Lösen von Problemen zulässt und die Wertschätzung gegenüber den Mitarbeitern widerspiegelt. Das neue Gebäudeensemble bietet eine inspirierende und attraktive Umgebung, die Innovation, interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit und Wissensaustausch fördert.

Alle Arbeitsplätze schaffen ein multifunktionales Raum- und Arbeitsplatzangebot mit einer Vielzahl von individuellen, gemeinsamen, offenen und geschlossenen Arbeitsbereichen. Diese neuartigen Bürolandschaften erzeugen Räume, die Wissen generieren und Menschen dazu anregen, miteinander in Austausch und Kommunikation zu treten.

Co-Working Café

Das Co-Working Café bietet allen Mitarbeitern die Möglichkeit zum informellen Austausch und zur Entspannung, hat Zugang auf die Terrassen und den Stadtplatz und grenzt an die Bereiche der Konferenzbereiche und der ‚Townhall‘ für die wöchentlichen Start-up Gespräche als Marktplatz.

Mieter und Kunden können hier die Zeit bis zu ihrem Termin überbrücken, potenzielle neue Mitarbeiter auf ihr Vorstellungsgespräch warten. Darüber hinaus bietet das Bistro den Mitarbeitern die Möglichkeit, mitgebrachte Speisen aufzuwärmen und das Raumangebot für die Mittagspause oder aber kurze Spontanpausen zum informellen Dialog zu nutzen. Das Café dient des Weiteren zum gelegentlichen Catering des Kommunikationszentrums.

Innen-Außen-Beziehung

In der heutigen Arbeitswelt mit ihren flexiblen Arbeitszeiten und -rhythmen ist es wünschenswert, wenn man sich während der Arbeitszeit auf der Innenhofterrasse, aber auch auf den optionalen Loggien erholen kann. Alle sind begrünt und haben eine hohe Verweil- und Aufenthaltsqualität.

Mehrwert des Office-Gebäudes

Der Kern des Wissens und der Innovation aller Mieter und damit das größte Kapital sind ihre Mitarbeiter. Das Gebäude muss als Attraktor für High Potentials auf dem Markt funktionieren. Darüber hinaus muss es die Bindung erfahrener Mitarbeiter garantieren. Die Unternehmenskultur und der wertschätzende Umgang mit den Mitarbeitern spielen eine große Rolle bei dieser Entscheidung. Mehrwerte im direkten Arbeitsumfeld bestimmen die Arbeitsplatzwahl nachhaltig.

Nachhaltigkeit

Bei der Erstellung und Planung des neuen Gebäudes legen wir einen hohen Maßstab an die Nachhaltigkeit.

Dies setzt eine optimale Gebäudehülle voraus, die den Energieeinsatz für Gebäude und Anlagen optimiert. Gleichzeitig wird ein optimales Raumklima (Raumtemperatur, Luftfeuchtigkeit, Luftwechsel, Luftreinheit und Licht) vorgesehen, das auf die Bedürfnisse der Mitarbeitenden abgestimmt ist.

Das Gebäude ist nachhaltig, wirtschaftlich effizient, umweltfreundlich und ressourcensparend. Das Gebäude ist so geplant, dass es zertifizierungsfähig ist und mindestens eine Zertifizierung nach Green-Building Leed Standard erhalten wird. 

Der Einsatz erneuerbarer Energien ist grundsätzlich vorgesehen.

1. Preis Wettbewerb, Leistungsphasen 1 bis 8, Generalplanung, 2019-2023

BGF 48.000 m2

Auftraggeber: Siemens

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on xing
Share on email