Skip to content

Ludwiggalerie, Schloss Oberhausen

LUDWIGGALERIE Schloss Oberhausen

The Ludwiggalerie Schloss Oberhausen is an art museum in Oberhausen. The gallery is located in the Kaisergarten within walking distance of the Gasometer and CentrO. Initially founded as a municipal gallery and specialising in art of the GDR in 1983 as the Ludwig Institute, the Ludwig Galerie has been one of the internationally renowned exhibition venues in the Ruhr region since its new conception in 1998.

As architects and general planners, in 1998 we extended the classicist palace complex, which was planned in 1808 by the Münster master builder August Reinking for Count Max Friedrich von Westerholt-Gysenberg, with an extension made of glass and steel. The collector couple Peter and Irene Ludwig, who gave the gallery its name, initiated the new orientation of the cultural institute. Since then, her very extensive collection, which has been distributed among museums all over the world, has formed the high-quality, cross-temporal and cross-cultural basis of the art exhibitions in the Ludwiggalerie.

The location of the exhibition itself becomes the selected object in the “Cour d`honneur” of the U-shaped part of the castle. Respectfully, the “glass showcase” stands axially aligned in front of the restored old castle and forms a synergy of form and material with the symmetrical castle complex.

In the middle of the three-winged main building of the palace complex, it not only fulfils the function of the reception hall, but is also the venue for vernissages, concerts and discussions.

Not only is art exhibited here, but visitors also become part of the space that can be experienced from inside and outside. You will certainly only experience the glass walls as a virtual boundary. These consist of a flush-fitting all-glass façade with internal tubular steel supports.

Modern air-conditioning and ventilation technology ensures that the “glass showcase” simultaneously serves as a “climate lock” through a system of uniform ventilation and cooling by groundwater.

Conversion, modernisation, general planning, work phases 1 to 9, 1995 to 2000

GFA 3,700 m2

Client: Schloß Oberhausen

Website Ludwiggalerie

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on xing
Share on email

Skip to content

Ludwiggalerie, Schloss Oberhausen

LUDWIGGALERIE Schloss Oberhausen

Die Ludwiggalerie Schloss Oberhausen ist ein Kunstmuseum in Oberhausen. Die Galerie liegt im Kaisergarten fußläufig zum Gasometer und zum CentrO. Zunächst als städtische Galerie gegründet und 1983 als Ludwig Institut für Kunst der DDR spezialisiert, gehört die Ludwig Galerie seit der Neukonzeption im Jahr 1998 zu den international renommierten Ausstellungshäusern im Ruhrgebiet.

Als Architekten und Generalplaner erweiterten wir 1998 die klassizistische Schlossanlage, die 1808 von dem Münsteraner Baumeister August Reinking für den Grafen Max Friedrich von Westerholt-Gysenberg geplant wurde, um einen Anbau aus Glas und Stahl . Das Sammlerehepaar Peter und Irene Ludwig, Namensgeber der Galerie, hatten die neue Ausrichtung des Kulturinstitutes angestoßen. Ihre sehr umfangreiche und über Museen in der ganzen Welt aufgeteilte Sammlung bildet seit dieser Zeit den qualitätvollen und zeit- wie kulturenübergreifenden Grundstock der Kunstausstellungen in der Ludwiggalerie.

Der Ort der Ausstellung wird selbst zum ausgewählten Objekt im “Cour d`honneur” des U-förmigen Schloßteiles. Respektvoll steht die „gläserne Vitrine” axial ausgerichtet vor dem restaurierten alten Schloß und bildet mit der symetrischen Schloßanlage eine Synergese von Form und Material.

Inmitten des dreiflügeligen Haupthauses der Schloßanlage erfüllt Sie nicht nur die Funktion der Empfangshalle, sondern ist auch Ort für Vernissagen, Konzerte und Diskussionen.

Hier wird nicht nur Kunst ausgestellt, auch die Besucher werden zum Teil des von Innen und Außen erlebbaren Raumes. Dabei erfahren Sie die Glaswände gewiß nur als virtuelle Begrenzung. Diese bestehen aus einer flächenbündigen Ganzglasfassade mit innenliegenden Stahlrohrstützen.

Eine moderne Klima- und Lüftungstechnik sorgt dafür, daß die „gläserne Vitrine” zugleich durch ein System gleichmäßiger Belüftung und Kühlung durch das Grundwasser als „Klimaschleuse” dient.

Umbau, Modernisierung, Generalplanung, Leistungsphasen 1 bis 9, 1995 bis 2000

BGF 3.700 m2

Auftraggeber: Schloß Oberhausen

Website der Ludwiggalerie

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on xing
Share on email